The IODP-China Scientific Committee is composed of 20 experts from relevant domestic academic institutions. The Scientific Committee is chaired by Academician Ding Zhongli of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and the deputy directors are Academician Chen Jun of Nanjing University, Professor Zhu Weilin, Chief Geologist of CNOOC, and Professor Jian Zhimin of Tongji University. We invited Academician Wang Pinxian of the previous Scientific Committee as consultant. Professor Liu Zhifei of Tongji University serves as the academic secretary of the Scientific Committee. The key responsibilities of the Scientific Committee are to provide decision-making consultation and propose the scientific projects for China’s participation in IODP, review our scientific drilling proposals, and recommending the IODP Science Evaluation Panel to send representatives and scientists from China to participate in IODP expeditions, organize IODP academic symposium, outreach and education activities, etc.


Director Ding Zhongli
Chinese Academy of Sciences, Academician

Vice-director Chen Jun
Nanjing University, Academician

Vice-director Zhu Weilin
China National Offshore Oil Corporation, Professor

Vice-director Jian Zhimin
Tongji University, Professor

Consultant Wang Pinxian
Tongji University, Academician

Committee Member Jin Zhenmin
China University of Geosciences (Wuhan), 

Committee Member Wang Chengshan
China University of Geosciences (Beijing), 

Committee Member Li Jiabiao
Second institute of oceanography, MNR, 

Committee Member Ding Kang
Institute of Deep-sea Science and Engineering, CAS, Professor

Committee Member Li Tiegang
First Institute of Oceanography, MNR, Professor

Committee Member Liu Yu
Earth Science Division of NSFC, Professor

Committee Member Pang Xiong
China National Offshore Oil Corporation, Shenzhen Branch, Professor

Committee Member Qiu Xuelin
South China Sea Institute of Oceanology, CAS, Professor

Committee Member Shao Zongze
Third Institute of Oceanography, MNR, Professor

Committee Member Shi Xuefa
First Institute of Oceanography, MNR, Professor

Committee Member Sun Weidong
Institute of Oceanology,CAS, Professor

Committee Member Wang Fengping
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Professor

Committee Member Xu Jingping
Southern University of Science and Technology, Professor

Committee Member Yang Shengxiong
Guangzhou Marine Geological Survey, Ministry of Land and ResourcesChief Engineer

Committee Member Zhang Haiqi
China Geological Survey, Professor

Committee Member Zhou Liping
Peking University, Professor